State Help / Find a Processor

If you need more help than this website can offer, the Niche Meat Processing Assistance Network (NMPAN) has State Affiliates throughout the United States. These Affiliates are either in university extension, state departments of agriculture, or similar organizations, and regularly work with small meat processors. State Affiliates should be able to provide you with state-specific answers, hands-on help, and connect you with small meat processors in your state. We also provide additional contact information for meat processors, state meat processor trade associations and other state non-profits assisting small meat processors.

Looking for a USDA inspected processor for red meat or poultry? See the USDA Food Safety Inspection Service (FSIS) database here. You can search by plant name, state, type of processing, and other parameters.

Looking for a small-scale poultry processor?  NCAT maintains a database of plants by state.  You can access that database here.

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois

Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana

Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania

Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming

 

Alabama

Dr. Michelle Worosz
Auburn University
Auburn, AL
mrw0016@auburn.edu

Directory of Alabama’s Custom Livestock Slaughter and Meat Processing Facilities 

Alabama_Meat_Processing_Plants

Arizona

Sabrina Tuttle, Ph.D.
Extension Agent
The San Carlos Apache Reservation
University of Arizona
San Carlos, AZ
(928) 475-2350
sabrinat@ag.arizona.edu

AZ_Exempt_Establishments_Roster

AZ_Official_Plant_Roster

AZ_Official_Federal_Establishments

California

For red meat processing:
John M. Harper, Mendocino County Director
University of California Cooperative Extension
Livestock & Natural Resources Advisor
Ukiah, CA
(707) 463-4495
jmharper@ucdavis.edu
John’s Facebook Page
Follow John on Twitter: @MendoLakeRange

For poultry processing:
Roger Ingram, Farm Advisor
University of California Cooperative Extension – Placer County
Auburn, CA
(530) 889-7385
rsingram@ucdavis.edu

Other Contacts in California:
California Association of Meat Processors
Vicki Phillips, Executive Secretary
P.O. Box 201, Penryn, CA 95663
(916) 660-0598
campvicki@jps.net

University of California Cooperative Extension
530-889-7385
rsingram@ucdavis.edu

California Meat Summit

Niche Meat Processing Resources for the North Coast

Searchable Directory and Map of California Meat Processing Facilities

Listing of California Poultry & Red Meat Plants

USDA_inspected_slaughter_plants_CA

On-Farm Poultry Processing Rules in CA

Colorado

Dawn Thilmany
Colorado State University
Fort Collins, CO
(970) 491-7220
dawn.thilmany@colostate.edu

Martha Sullins
Colorado State University
Fort Collins, CO
(970) 491-5706
martha.sullins@colostate.edu

Steve Blunt, Regulatory Specialist
CO Department of Agriculture
(303) 867-9237
steve.blunt@state.co.us

Colorado Meat Processing Plants

Colorado Market Maker

Connecticut

Diane Hirsch
University of Connecticut Cooperative Extension
New Haven, CT
(203) 407-3163
diane.hirsch@uconn.edu

Other Contacts in Connecticut:
New England Meat and Food Processors Association, Inc.
Ronald F. Nodine, President
Nodine’s Smokehouse, Inc.
P.O. Box 1787, Torrington, CT 06790-1787
(860) 489-3213

Delaware

For Poultry Processing:
Dr. Dennis McIntosh
Assistant Research Professor & Extension Specialist – Aquaculture
Delaware State University
1200 N. DuPont Highway
Dover, DE 19938
Phone: (302) 857-6456
dmcintosh@desu.edu

For Small Ruminant Processing:
Dr. Dahlia Jackson
Delaware State University Cooperative Extension
Dover, DE 19901
(302) 857-6490
djjackson@desu.edu

Florida

Dr. Robert A. Kluson
University of Florida – Sarasota County Extension
Sarasota, FL
(941) 232-3090
rkluson@scgov.net

Dr. Chad Carr
University of Florida – Meat Science Extension
Gainsville, FL
(352) 392-2454
chadcarr@ufl.edu
University of Florida Meat Science Extension Website

USDA-Inspected Livestock Facilities in Florida

Custom Exempt Slaughter Facilities in Florida

Georgia

Dr. Anand Mohan, Extension Meats Specialist
Department of Food Science & Technology
University of Georgia
Athens, GA
Phone: (706) 542 6673
anandm@uga.edu
Dr. Mohan’s website

Georgia Department of Agriculture Directory of Licensed Meat Plants

Searchable Database of All Meat Plants in Georgia

Hawaii

Matt Stevenson
Assistant County Extension Agent, Livestock & Range Programs
University of Hawaii Cooperative Extension Service
Lihue, HI
(808) 274-3472
stevenso@hawaii.edu

Idaho

We do not currently have an official state affiliate for Idaho, but you may find the help you need from the people listed below.

Ron Richard
Meat Lab Manager and Instructor
University of Idaho
(208) 885 6727
rrichard@uidaho.edu

Northwest Meat Processors Association
Kathy Moss, President
Russell’s Custom Meats and Deli
Baker City, OR
(541) 575 0720
russellsdeli@centurytel.net

Illinois

Jamie Washburn
Extension Educator, Small Farms and Local Food Systems
University of Illinois Extension
Effingham, IL
jlwshbrn@illinois.edu
(217) 347-7773

Other Contacts in Illinois:
Illinois Association of Meat Processors
Dianne Handsaker, Executive Secretary
P.O. Box 25
Pearl City, IL 61062
(815) 443-2492
iamp@aeroinc.net
www.illinoismeatprocessors.com

Searchable Database of All Meat Facilities in Illinois

Indiana

David M. Bough, D.V.M.
Director
Meat and Poultry Inspection Division
Indiana Board of Animal Health
Indianapolis, IN 46205
(317) 544-2402
dbough@boah.in.gov

Other Contacts in Indiana:
Kerri Suhr, D.V.M.
Deputy Director
Meat and Poultry Inspection Division
Indiana Board of Animal Health
Indianapolis, IN 46205
(317) 544-2406
ksuhr@boah.in.gov

Listing of Indiana Meat Processing Facilities

Searchable Database of Meat Facilities in Indiana

Iowa

Dr. Kathryn Polking, Bureau Chief

Iowa Meat & Poultry Inspection Bureau

Des Moines, IA

(515) 281-5597

Kathryn.Polking@iowaagriculture.gov

Janis Hochstetler

HACCP & Labeling Coordinator

Iowa Meat & Poultry Inspection Bureau

Des Moines, IA

(515) 281-8858

Janis.Hochstetler@oowaagriculture.gov

Dr. Joseph C. Cordray
Iowa State University
Ames, IA
(515) 294-4266
jcordray@iastate.edu

Iowa Licensed Meat and Poultry Plants

Kansas

Dr. Liz Boyle, Professor and Extension Specialist
Department of Animal Sciences and Industry
Kansas State University
Manhattan, KS
(785) 532.1247
lboyle@ksu.edu

Tony George, Program Manager

Meat & Poultry Inspection Program

Kansas Department of Agriculture

1320 Research Park Drive

Manhattan, KS  66502

(785)564-6776

Other Contacts in Kansas:
Kansas Meat Processors Association
Dr. David E. Schafer, Executive Director
2104 Fox Meadows
Manhattan, KS 66503-2116
(785) 539-7842
kmpa@sbcglobal.net
www.kmpaonline.org

Kansas_Slaughter_and_Processing_Plants

Kentucky

Dr. Gregg Rentfrow
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY
(859) 257-7550
Gregg.Rentfrow@uky.edu

Dr. Jacquie Jacob
University of Kentucky
Poultry Extension Associate
(859) 257-7613
jacquie.jacob@uky.edu

Searchable Database of All Meat Facilities in Kentucky

Louisiana

Inspected Plants in Louisiana

Maine

Dr. Jennifer A. Eberly, State Veterinarian-Meat and Poultry Inspection

Maine Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry

Division of Quality Assurance and Regulations

28 State House Station

Augusta, ME   04333

jennifer.eberly@maine.gov

207.287.7512

Directory of Meat Processing Plants in Maine

Maryland

Ginger S. Myers
Regional Agricultural Marketing Specialist
University of Maryland Extension
Western Maryland Research & Education Center
Keedysville, MD
(301) 432-2767 x338
gsmyers@umd.edu

USDA Inspected Facilities, Products and Services in Maryland

Expanded Directory of Facilities in Maryland

A Producer’s Guide to Meat and Poultry Processing Regulations in Maryland (EB-372)

Maryland Niche Meats and Poultry Producers Online Directory

Massachusetts

Bryan Petrucci
Bos Native Meats LLC
1605 Clayton Mill River Rd.
Southfield, MA 01259
(413) 229-0276

bryan.petrucci@gmail.com

Brad Mitchell
Massachusetts Farm Bureau
249 Lakeside Ave
Marlboro, MA 01752
(508)481-4766
brad@mfbf.net

Michigan

Dr. Jeannine P. Schweihofer
Meat Quality Extension Educator
Michigan State University Extension
Bad Axe, MI
(989) 269-9949
grobbelj@anr.msu.edu

Other Michigan Contacts:
Michigan Meat Association
Dru Monti, Executive Secretary
7539 Clark Road
Bath, MI 48808
(517) 599-0036
dru@michiganmeatassociation.org
http://www.michiganmeatassociation.org/

USDA-Inspected Processors in Michigan

Searchable Database of All Meat Facilities in Michigan

Minnesota

Dr. Ryan Cox
Animal Science Department
University of Minnesota
St. Paul, MN
(612) 624-3063
ryancox@umn.edu
www.extension.umn.edu/meatscience

Other Contacts in Minnesota:
Minnesota Association of Meat Processors
Julie Lorentz, Executive Director
5920 315th St Way
Cannon Falls, MN 55009
(507) 263-2976
mamp@frontiernet.net
www.mamponline.com

Minnesota Custom Exempt Plants

Minnesota Equal-to or State Equivalent Plants

Minnesota USDA Slaughter and Processing Plants

USDA Processing-Only Plants in Minnesota

USDA Cold-Storage Warehouses in Minnesota

Farmer Guide to Processor Categories from the University of Minnesota

Mississippi

Mississippi_Meat_Processing_Plants

Mississippi Market Maker – Searchable Database of Meat Plants

Missouri

Dr. Bryon Wiegand
University of Missouri
Columbia, MO
(573) 882-3176
wiegandb@missouri.edu

Other Contacts in Missouri:
Missouri Association of Meat Processors
Niki Cloud, Executive Secretary
2023 South Paradise Lane
Carthage, MO 64836
(417) 237-0410
niki@mamp.co
mamp.co

Missouri Meat Processing Facilities from Missouri Department of Agriculture

Montana

Gary Hamel
Chief, Meat and Poultry Inspection Bureau
Montana Department of Livestock
Helena, MT
ghamel@mt.gov
406-444-5293

Jeff Schahczenski
Montana Program Specialist
National Center for Appropriate Technology (NCAT)
Butte, MT
jeffs@ncat.org

Other Contacts in Montana:
Montana Meat Processors Association
Lyle Happel, Secretary/Treasurer
4700 Gooch Hill Rd., Bozeman, MT 59718
(406) 587-8972

Mission Mountain Food Enterprise Center
Jan Tusick
Ag Enterprise & Cooperative Development Program Manager
Lake County Community Development
PO Box 128, Ronan, MT 59864
(406) 676-5901
jan.tusick@lakecountycdc.org

State Inspected Meat Plants from Montana Department of Livestock

Nebraska

Dr. Dennis E. Burson
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Lincoln, NE
(402) 472-6457
dburson1@unl.edu

Other Contacts in Nebraska:
Nebraska Association of Meat Processors
Mark & Belinda Gentert, Secretary & Treasurer
Gentert Packing Co., P.O. Box 22, Holstein, NE 68950
(402) 756-5611
tophotdog@gtmc.net
NAMP website

Nebraska Market Maker – Searchable Database of Nebraska Meat Facilities

Nevada

Dr. Steven R. Lewis
Extension Educator
Minden, NV
Phone: 775-782-9960
lewisst@unce.unr.edu

Nevada Meat Processing Facilities

New Hampshire

Daimon Meeh
Food & Agriculture Field Specialist
University of New Hampshire Cooperative Extension
Rockingham County
Brentwood NH 03833
(603) 679 5616
Daimon.Meeh@unh.edu

New Jersey

Dr. Donald Schaffner
Dep’t. of Food Science
Rutgers University
New Brunswick, NJ
(732) 982 7475
schaffner@aesop.rutgers.edu

Other Resources in New Jersey:
Food Development and Manufacturing Center
Rutgers Food Innovation Center

New York

Matt LeRoux
Ag. Marketing Specialist
Cornell University Cooperative Extension
Tompkins County
(607) 272-2292
mnl28@cornell.edu
Marty Broccoli
Cornell University Cooperative Extension
Oriskany, NY
(315) 736-3394 x.121
mjb83@cornell.edu

Other Contacts in New York:
New York State Association of Meat Processors, Inc.
Warren F. Brannon, Secretary
61 Oak Hill Road, Moravia, NY 13118
(315) 497-1721

Other Resources in New York:

New York Slaughterhouse Map

On-Farm Poultry Slaughter Guidelines

Resource Guide to Direct Marketing Meat and Poultry

New York Market Maker – Searchable Database of Meat Facilities

North Carolina

Dr. Dana Hanson, Associate Professor & Meat Extension Specialist
Food Science Department
North Carolina State University
Raleigh, NC
(919) 515-2958
dana_hanson@ncsu.edu

Donald H. Delozier, State Director
North Carolina Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
Meat and Poultry Inspection Division
Raleigh, NC
(919) 733-4136
Donald.Delozier@ncagr.gov

North Carolina Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services website

For Poultry Processing:
Dr. Doug Smith, Associate Professor
Director, Poultry Processing Laboratory
Department of Poultry Science
North Carolina State University
Raleigh, NC
(919) 513-7157
doug.smith@ncsu.edu

Other Contacts in North Carolina:
NC Choices
Carolina Meat Institute
Casey McKissick, Director
www.ncchoices.com
www.carolinameatconference.com

North Carolina Meat Processors Association, Inc.
Candace Cansler, Executive Director
P.O. Box 1176, Conover, NC 28613
(828) 465-4900
ncmpa@ncmpa.com
http://www.ncmpa.com/

North Carolina Meat Plants Directory

North Dakota

Dr. Karl Hoppe
North Dakota State University Extension Service
Carrington, ND
(701) 652-2951 ext 111
karl.hoppe@ndsu.edu

Dr. Robert Maddock
Extension Meats Specialist
North Dakota State University
Fargo, ND
(701) 231-8975
Robert.Maddock@ndsu.edu

Other Contacts in North Dakota:
North Dakota Meat Processors Association
Eileen C. Myers, Secretary/Treasurer
Myers Meats & Specialties
2452B 70th Ave. N.W., Parshall, ND 58770-9663
(701) 743-4458
mymespec@restel.net

North Dakota Meat Processing Establishments

Ohio

Dr. Lynn Knipe
Ohio State University
Columbus, OH
(614) 292-4877
knipe.1@osu.edu

Listing of Ohio Meat Plants

Ohio Market Maker – Searchable Database of Meat Facilities

Oklahoma

Jake Nelson
Meat Processing Specialist
Robert M. Kerr Food & Ag. Products Center
Oklahoma State University
(405) 744 6071
jacob.nelson@okstate.edu
Food and Ag Products Center website

Other Contacts in Oklahoma:
Oklahoma-Texas Meat Processors Association
Wes Beane, Executive Director
P.O. Box 340
Perkins, OK 74059
(405) 547 2464
wbeane@suddenlinkmail.com
OTMPA website

Listing of Oklahoma Meat and Poultry Plants

Oregon

Jerry W. Gardner, Bus Dev Mgr
Ag Development & Marketing Division
Oregon Department of Agriculture
Portland, OR
(503) 872-6608
jgardner@oda.state.or.us

Dr. Lauren Gwin
Oregon State University
Corvallis, OR
(541) 737 1569
lauren.gwin@oregonstate.edu

Other Contacts in Oregon:
Northwest Meat Processors Association
Kathy Moss, President
Russell’s Custom Meats and Deli
Baker City, OR
(541) 575 0720
russellsdeli@centurytel.net

Will Fargo, Food Safety Specialist
Food Safety Division
Oregon Department of Agriculture
wfargo@oda.state.or.us
(503) 232-1014

Oregon USDA-Inspected Slaughter Facilities

Oregon State-Licensed Poultry Processors

Searchable Database of Facilities by License from Oregon Department of Agriculture

A Best Practices Guide to Open-Air Poultry Slaughter

Oregon Processing Studies & Reports

Pennsylvania

Dr. Jonathan A. Campbell, PhD
Extension Meat Specialist
Assistant Professor
Penn State University
University Park, PA
(814) 867-2880
jac69@psu.edu
meatscience@psu.edu

Other Contacts in Pennsylvania:
Pennsylvania Association of Meat Processors
Judi M. Gensemer, Association Manager
1172A Ridge Road, Bloomsburg, PA 17815
(866) 659-4044
PAMP@pameatprocessors.org
www.pameatprocessors.org

Farmers Guide to Processing and Selling Meat or Poultry

Pennsylvania Meat Processing Facilities

South Carolina

South Carolina Meat and Poultry Inspection Department Establishment Directories

Texas

Dr. Davey Griffin
Professor and Extension Meat Specialist
Texas A&M University
College Station, TX
(979)845-6489
dgriff@tamu.edu

Texas Association of Meat Processors

Texas Meat Processing Plants

Utah

Kynda Curtis, Ph.D.
Assoc. Prof. & Extension Specialist, Dep’t of Applied Economics
Utah State University
Logan, UT
(435) 797-0444
kynda.curtis@usu.edu

Vermont

Randy Quenneville
Vermont Department of Agriculture
Montpelier, VT
(802) 828-2426
randy.quenneville@state.vt.us

Other Resources in Vermont:
Map of Vermont Meat Processing Regulations (2012)
Starting with the question, “Have livestock to slaughter?,” this color coded flow chart walks you through the regulatory and licensing requirements for different livestock and meat marketing strategies.

Information on Vermont Meat and Poultry Inspection

Virginia

Mark Stevenson
Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, VA
(540) 231-9663
jms1@vt.edu

Virginia Meat Processors

Washington

Dr. Susan Kerr
NW Regional Livestock and Dairy Extension Specialist
16650 St. Rt. 536
Mount Vernon, WA 98273
360-848-6151
kerrs@wsu.edu

Other Contacts in Washington:
Dr. Karen Killinger
Washington State University
School of Food Science
Pullman, WA
(509)335-2970
karen_killinger@wsu.edu

Northwest Meat Processors Association
Dayle Robnett, President
Diamond S Meats
Klamath Falls, OR
(541) 884 8767
sdrobnett@clearwire.net

Bruce Dunlop
Island Grown Farmers Cooperative
Lopez Island, WA
(360) 468 4620
bruce@lopezislandfarm.com

Poultry Processing Equipment Rental Program of the Northwest Agriculture Business Center

Washington Meat Processing Information and List of Facilities

West Virginia

Dr. Almeshia Abdullah
West Virginia State University Extension Service
Institute, WV
(304) 204-4021
abrown23@wvstateu.edu

Quinton Jones
Assistant Director, Meat Inspection
West Virginia Department of Agriculture
(304) 558-2206
qjones@ag.state.wv.us

West Virginia Licensed Commercial Establishments

West Virginia Licensed Custom Establishments

West Virginia Licensed Distributor Establishments

Wisconsin

Dr. Jeff Sindelar
University of Wisconsin – Madison
Madison, WI
(608) 262-0555
jsindelar@wisc.edu

Other Contacts in Wisconsin:
Wisconsin Association of Meat Processors, Inc.
Peter Drone, Executive Secretary
P.O. Box 331
Bloomington, WI 53804
(608) 994-2559
pdrone@chorus.net
www.wi-amp.com

Dairy and Meat Directories in Wisconsin

We do not currently have affiliates in the following states:

  • Alaska
  • Arkansas
  • Louisiana
  • Massachusetts
  • Mississippi
  • New Mexico
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Wyoming

If you are interested in being an affiliate for your state, please contact NMPAN Director, Lauren Gwin, at lauren.gwin@oregonstate.edu

 

Leave a Reply