State Affiliates

If you need more help than this Web site can offer, the Niche Meat Processing Assistance Network (NMPAN) has State Affiliates in about 36 of the 50 United States. These Affiliates are either in university extension, state departments of agriculture, or similar organizations, and regularly work with small meat processors. State Affiliates should be able to provide you with state-specific answers, hands-on help, and connect you with small meat processors in your state. State Affiliate pages also list contact information for state meat processor trade associations and other state non-profits assisting small meat processors.

Displaying 1 - 41 of 41

Colorado

Dr. Dawn Thilmany

Professor, Ag and Resource Economics & Assoc Director, Office of Community and Economic Development

dawn.thilmany@colostate.edu

(970) 491-7220

Fort Collins
CO
80523

Colorado State University

Colorado

Martha Sullins

NA

martha.sullins@colostate.edu

(970) 491-5706

Fort Collins
CO
80523

Colorado State University

Colorado

Steve Blunt

Regulatory Specialist

steve.blunt@state.co.us

303.869.9098

Broomfield
CO
80021

CO Department of Agriculture

Connecticut

Dr. Indu Upadhyaya, DVM, MVSc, Ph.D.

Food Safety Extension Faculty

indu.upadhyaya@uconn.edu

860-871-0776

Vernon
CT
6066

Uconn Extension, Tolland County, 24 Hyde Ave

Delaware

Dr. Dennis McIntosh

Professor & Extension Specialist - Aquaculture

dmcintosh@desu.edu

(302) 857-6456

Dover
DE
19901

Delaware State University, 1200 N. DuPont Hwy.

Florida

Dr. Chad Carr

Associate Professor & Extension Meat Specialist

chadcarr@ufl.edu

352-392-2454

Gainsville
FL
32608

University of Florida – Meat Science Extension

Georgia

Dr. Anand Mohan

Associate Professor and Extension Program Coordinator

anandmohan@uga.edu

706-542-6673

Athens
GA
30602

University of Georgia, Dept. of Food Science and Technology, 100 Cedar Street

Iowa

Dr. Kathryn Polking

Bureau Chief

kathryn.polking@iowaagriculture.gov

515-281-5597

Des Moines
IA
50319

Iowa Meat & Poultry Inspection Bureau

Indiana

Darla Kiesel

Executive Secretary

darla@dewigmeats.com

812-768-6208

IN
NA

Indiana Meat Packers and Processors (IMPPA)

Indiana

Dr. Kerri Suhr, D.V.M.

Deputy Director

ksuhr@boah.in.gov

(317) 544-2406

Indianapolis
IN
46205

Indiana Board of Animal Health, 1202 East 38th Street

Indiana

Dr. David M. Bough, DVM

Director, Meat and Poultry Inspection Division

dbough@boah.in.gov

(317) 544-2402

Indianapolis
IN
46205

Indiana Board of Animal Health, 1202 East 38th Street, Discovery Hall, Suite 100

Kansas

Dr. Liz Boyle

Professor and Meat Science Specialist

lboyle@ksu.edu

785-532-1247

Manhattan
KS
66506

Department of Animal Sciences and Industry, Kansas State University

Kentucky

Dr. Jacquie Jacob

Poultry Extension Project Manager

jacquie.jacob@uky.edu

859-257-7613

Lexington
KY
40546-0215

University of Kentucky, Department of Animal and Food Sciences, 604 Garrigus Building

Massachusetts

Brad Mitchell

NA

brad@mfbf.net

(508)481-4766

Marlboro
MA
1752

Massachusetts Farm Bureau, 249 Lakeside Ave

Maryland

Ginger S. Myers

Marketing Specialist for Agriculture and Food Systems

gsmyers@umd.edu

301-432-2767 ext 338

Keedysville
MD
21756

University of Maryland Extension, Western Maryland Research & Education Center

Maine

Dr. Jason Bolton

Food Safety Specialist and Associate Extension Professor, and Academic Director of Innovation Engineering

jason.bolton@maine.edu

207.581.1366

Orono
ME
4469

348 Hitchner Hall, University of Maine

Maine

Jennifer Eberly, DVM, MPH

State Veterinarian-Meat and Poultry Inspection

jennifer.eberly@maine.gov

207-287-7512

Augusta
ME
4333

Division of Quality Assurance and Regulations, Maine Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry , SHS 28, 90 Blossom Lane

Michigan

Chloe Merindorf-Norton

Executive Secretary

chloe@michiganmeatassociation.org

(517) 490-0036

Bath
MI
48808

Michigan Meat Association, 7539 Clark Road

Michigan

Dr. Jeannine P. Schweihofer

Senior Meat Quality Extension Educator

grobbelj@msu.edu

(810) 989-6935

Port Huron
MI
48060

Michigan State University Extension, 200 Grand River Avenue, Suite 102

Missouri

Dr. Bryon Wiegand

NA

wiegandb@missouri.edu

(573) 882-3176

Columbia
MO
65211

University of Missouri

Missouri

Niki Cloud

Executive Secretary

niki@mamp.co

(417) 237-0410

Carthage
MO
64836

Missouri Association of Meat Processors, 2023 South Paradise Lane

Montana

Jeff Schahczenski

Agricultural and Natural Resource Economist

jeffs@ncat.org

406-494-7095 HOME & 406-498-4882 CELL

Butte
MT
59701

National Center for Appropriate Technology (NCAT)

North Carolina

Dr. Dana Hanson

Associate Professor & Meat Extension Specialist

djhanson@ncsu.edu

(919) 515-2958

Raleigh
NC
27695

Food Science Department, North Carolina State University

North Dakota

Dr. Karl Hoppe

Extension Livestock Systems Specialist

karl.hoppe@ndsu.edu

701.652.2951 Ext 111

Carrington
ND
58421-0219

North Dakota State University Extension Service

North Dakota

Steve Hammer

President, Elkton Locker

NA

701-269-8452

ND
NA

Dakota Association of Meat Processors

North Dakota

Andrea Grondahl, DVM

Livestock Industries Division Director

agrondah@nd.gov

701-328-4762

Bismarck
ND
5805-0020

Meat Inspection, ND Department of Agriculture, 600 E Boulevard Dept 602

North Dakota

Dr. Robert Maddock

Associate Professor – Meat Science

Robert.Maddock@ndsu.edu

(701) 231-8975

Fargo
ND
58105

North Dakota State University

New Hampshire

Shelly Smith

Executive Director

shelly@dillerlocker.com

(402) 793-5840

Diller
NE
68342

Nebraska Association of Meat Processors, 601 Commercial Street, PO Box 116

Nebraska

Dr. Dennis Burson

Professor

dburson1@unl.edu

402 472 6457

Lincoln
NE
68583

University of Nebraska–Lincoln, Animal Science, ANSC A213d, UNL

New Hampshire

Elaina Enzien

Field Specialist, Food & Agriculture

Elaina.enzien@unh.edu

(603) 679-5616

Brentwood
NH
3833

113 North Road

New Jersey

Dr. Donald Schaffner

NA

schaffner@aesop.rutgers.edu

(732) 982 7475

New Brunswick
NJ
8901

Dep’t. of Food Science, Rutgers University

New York

Matt LeRoux

Ag. Marketing Consultant

mnl28@cornell.edu

NA

Ithaca
NY
14853

Cornell University, Cornell University Cooperative Extension, Tompkins County

New York

Marty Broccoli

NA

mjb83@cornell.edu

(315) 736-3394 Ext. 121

Oriskany
NY
13424

Cornell University, Cornell University Cooperative Extension, 121 Second Street

Ohio

Dr. Lyda G. Garcia

Assistant Professor

Garcia.625@osu.edu

614.292.3642

Columbus
OH
43210

2029 Fyffe Court

Ohio

Dr. Curtis Knipe

NA

knipe.1@osu.edu

(614) 292-4877

Columbus
OH
43210

Ohio State University

Pennsylvania

Dr. Jonathan A. Campbell

Assistant Professor & Extension Meat Specialist

jac69@psu.edu & meatscience@psu.edu

(814) 867-2880

University Park
PA
16802

350 Agricultural Science and Industries Building

Texas

Dr. Davey Griffin

Professor and Meat Specialist & Executive Director for the Texas Association of Meat Processors

dgriff@tamu.edu

979-845-6489

College Station
TX
77843

Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, 2471 TAMU

Utah

Leann Hunting

Director of Animal Industry Division

Leannhunting@utah.gov

385-290-2383

Salt Lake City
UT
84116

350 N. Redwood Road

Utah

Noel McSpadden

Meat and Poultry Inspection Program Manager

nmcspaddenjr@utah.gov

801-982-2237

Salt Lake City
UT
84116

350 N. Redwood Road

Wisconsin

Dr. Jeff J. Sindelar

Professor and Extension Meat Specialist

NA

608-262-0555

Madison
WI
53706

Meat Science & Animal Biologics Discovery, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 1933 Observatory Drive

West Virginia

Quinton Jones

Assistant Director, Meat & Poultry Inspection Bureau

qjones@ag.state.wv.us

(304) 558-2206

Charleston
WV
25305

West Virginia Department of Agriculture. 1900 Kanawha Blvd., E.

No affiliate in your state? Help us find one.
State Affiliates are NMPAN’s “eyes and ears” on the ground and our primary contact in each state. They bring useful resources to the network’s attention, provide information and updates on niche meat processing development efforts, and keep the network relevant by identifying priority problems and challenges to niche processing.

State Affiliates usually hold positions that allow them to provide services to niche processors at low to no cost, i.e. such assistance fits clearly within their job description, for example, those who work for a state department of agriculture or university extension.

To become an NMPAN State Affiliate, please tell us about yourself and your connection with niche meat processing by emailing us [our email addresses are at the bottom of this page] some information about yourself, along with answers to the following three questions:

  • How are you involved with niche meat processing?
  • What are your primary processing-related challenges?
  • Where have you found help meeting these challenges? (Please be as specific as possible: people, organizations, guidebooks, websites, etc.)

We look forward to hearing from you.

Scroll to Top