State Help / Find a Processor

If you need more help than this website can offer, the Niche Meat Processing Assistance Network (NMPAN) has State Affiliates throughout the United States. These Affiliates are either in university extension, state departments of agriculture, or similar organizations, and regularly work with small meat processors. State Affiliates should be able to provide you with state-specific answers, hands-on help, and connect you with small meat processors in your state. We also provide additional contact information for meat processors, state meat processor trade associations and other state non-profits assisting small meat processors and producers.

Looking for a USDA inspected processor for red meat or poultry? See the USDA Food Safety Inspection Service (FSIS) database here. You can search by plant name, state, type of processing, and other parameters.

Displaying 1 - 41 of 41

Colorado

Dr. Dawn Thilmany

Professor, Ag and Resource Economics & Assoc Director, Office of Community and Economic Development

dawn.thilmany@colostate.edu
(970) 491-7220

Colorado State University

Colorado

Martha Sullins

NA

martha.sullins@colostate.edu
(970) 491-5706

Colorado State University

Colorado

Steve Blunt

Regulatory Specialist

steve.blunt@state.co.us
303.869.9098

CO Department of Agriculture

Connecticut

Dr. Indu Upadhyaya, DVM, MVSc, Ph.D.

Food Safety Extension Faculty

indu.upadhyaya@uconn.edu
860-871-0776

Uconn Extension

Delaware

Dr. Dennis McIntosh

Professor & Extension Specialist - Aquaculture

dmcintosh@desu.edu
(302) 857-6456

Delaware State University

Florida

Dr. Chad Carr

Associate Professor & Extension Meat Specialist

chadcarr@ufl.edu
352-392-2454

University of Florida – Meat Science Extension

Georgia

Dr. Anand Mohan

Associate Professor and Extension Program Coordinator

anandmohan@uga.edu
706-542-6673

University of Georgia, Dept. of Food Science and Technology

Iowa

Dr. Kathryn Polking

Bureau Chief

kathryn.polking@iowaagriculture.gov
515-281-5597

Iowa Meat & Poultry Inspection Bureau

Indiana

Darla Kiesel

Executive Secretary

darla@dewigmeats.com
812-768-6208

Indiana Meat Packers and Processors (IMPPA)

Indiana

Dr. Kerri Suhr, D.V.M.

Deputy Director

ksuhr@boah.in.gov
(317) 544-2406

Indiana Board of Animal Health

Indiana

Dr. David M. Bough, DVM

Director, Meat and Poultry Inspection Division

dbough@boah.in.gov
(317) 544-2402

Indiana Board of Animal Health

Kansas

Dr. Liz Boyle

Professor and Meat Science Specialist

lboyle@ksu.edu
785-532-1247

Department of Animal Sciences and Industry, Kansas State University

Kentucky

Dr. Jacquie Jacob

Poultry Extension Project Manager

jacquie.jacob@uky.edu
859-257-7613

University of Kentucky, Department of Animal and Food Sciences

Massachusetts

Brad Mitchell

NA

brad@mfbf.net
(508)481-4766

Massachusetts Farm Bureau

Maryland

Ginger S. Myers

Marketing Specialist for Agriculture and Food Systems

gsmyers@umd.edu
301-432-2767 ext 338

University of Maryland Extension, Western Maryland Research & Education Center

Maine

Dr. Jason Bolton

Food Safety Specialist and Associate Extension Professor, and Academic Director of Innovation Engineering

jason.bolton@maine.edu
207.581.1366

University of Maine

Maine

Jennifer Eberly, DVM, MPH

State Veterinarian-Meat and Poultry Inspection

jennifer.eberly@maine.gov
207-287-7512

Division of Quality Assurance and Regulations, Maine Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry

Michigan

Chloe Merindorf-Norton

Executive Secretary

chloe@michiganmeatassociation.org
(517) 490-0036

Michigan Meat Association

Michigan

Dr. Jeannine P. Schweihofer

Senior Meat Quality Extension Educator

grobbelj@msu.edu
(810) 989-6935

Michigan State University Extension

Missouri

Dr. Bryon Wiegand

NA

wiegandb@missouri.edu
(573) 882-3176

University of Missouri

Missouri

Niki Cloud

Executive Secretary

niki@mamp.co
(417) 237-0410

Missouri Association of Meat Processors

Montana

Jeff Schahczenski

Agricultural and Natural Resource Economist

jeffs@ncat.org
406-494-7095 HOME & 406-498-4882 CELL

National Center for Appropriate Technology (NCAT)

North Carolina

Dr. Dana Hanson

Associate Professor & Meat Extension Specialist

djhanson@ncsu.edu
(919) 515-2958

Food Science Department, North Carolina State University

North Dakota

Dr. Karl Hoppe

Extension Livestock Systems Specialist

karl.hoppe@ndsu.edu
701.652.2951 Ext 111

North Dakota State University Extension Service

North Dakota

Steve Hammer

President, Elkton Locker

NA
701-269-8452

Dakota Association of Meat Processors

North Dakota

Andrea Grondahl, DVM

Livestock Industries Division Director

agrondah@nd.gov
701-328-4762

Meat Inspection, ND Department of Agriculture

North Dakota

Dr. Robert Maddock

Associate Professor – Meat Science

Robert.Maddock@ndsu.edu
(701) 231-8975

North Dakota State University

New Hampshire

Shelly Smith

Executive Director

shelly@dillerlocker.com
(402) 793-5840

Nebraska Association of Meat Processors

Nebraska

Dr. Dennis Burson

Professor

dburson1@unl.edu
402 472 6457

University of Nebraska–Lincoln, Animal Science

New Hampshire

Elaina Enzien

Field Specialist, Food & Agriculture

Elaina.enzien@unh.edu
(603) 679-5616

New Jersey

Dr. Donald Schaffner

NA

schaffner@aesop.rutgers.edu
(732) 982 7475

Dep’t. of Food Science, Rutgers University

New York

Matt LeRoux

Ag. Marketing Consultant

mnl28@cornell.edu
NA

Cornell University, Cornell University Cooperative Extension, Tompkins County

New York

Marty Broccoli

NA

mjb83@cornell.edu
(315) 736-3394 Ext. 121

Cornell University, Cornell University Cooperative Extension

Ohio

Dr. Lyda G. Garcia

Assistant Professor

Garcia.625@osu.edu
614.292.3642

Ohio

Dr. Curtis Knipe

NA

knipe.1@osu.edu
(614) 292-4877

Ohio State University

Pennsylvania

Dr. Jonathan A. Campbell

Assistant Professor & Extension Meat Specialist

jac69@psu.edu & meatscience@psu.edu
(814) 867-2880

Texas

Dr. Davey Griffin

Professor and Meat Specialist & Executive Director for the Texas Association of Meat Processors

dgriff@tamu.edu
979-845-6489

Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service

Utah

Leann Hunting

Director of Animal Industry Division

Leannhunting@utah.gov
385-290-2383

Utah

Noel McSpadden

Meat and Poultry Inspection Program Manager

nmcspaddenjr@utah.gov
801-982-2237

Wisconsin

Dr. Jeff J. Sindelar

Professor and Extension Meat Specialist

NA
608-262-0555

Meat Science & Animal Biologics Discovery, University of Wisconsin-Madison

West Virginia

Quinton Jones

Assistant Director, Meat & Poultry Inspection Bureau

qjones@ag.state.wv.us
(304) 558-2206

West Virginia Department of Agriculture. 1900 Kanawha Blvd., E.

Scroll to Top