State Help / Find a Processor

If you need more help than this website can offer, the Niche Meat Processing Assistance Network has rounded up resources for each state (or close to), called State Affiliates. We are working hard to identify a reliable affiliate for each state, but thus far only have 30 out of 50 states covered. State Affiliates are either in university extension, state departments of agriculture, or similar organizations, and regularly work with small meat processors and producers. State Affiliates should be able to provide you with state-specific answers and help you identify resources in your state. We also provide additional contact information for state and regional meat processor trade associations and other non-profits assisting small meat processors and producers.

Looking for a USDA inspected processor for red meat or poultry? See the USDA Food Safety Inspection Service (FSIS) database here. You can search by plant name, state, type of processing, and other parameters. If you are looking for a state inspected or a custom exempt plant, reach out to your state department of agriculture for a list of licensees.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 77

Alabama

California

California Association of Meat Processors

Colorado

Dr. Dawn Thilmany

Professor, Ag and Resource Economics & Assoc Director, Office of Community and Economic Development

Colorado State University
dawn.thilmany@colostate.edu
(970) 491-7220

Colorado

Martha Sullins

Front Range Regional Specialist- Food Systems & Business Mngt.

Colorado State University
martha.sullins@colostate.edu
(970) 491-5706

Colorado

Steve Blunt

Regulatory Specialist

CO Department of Agriculture
steve.blunt@state.co.us
(303) 869-9098

Colorado

Colorado Association of Meat Processors

cas_camp@mail.colostate.edu

Connecticut

Dr. Indu Upadhyaya, DVM, MVSc, Ph.D.

Food Safety Extension Faculty

Uconn Extension
indu.upadhyaya@uconn.edu
(860) 871-0776

Delaware

Dr. Dennis McIntosh

Professor & Extension Specialist - Aquaculture

Delaware State University
dmcintosh@desu.edu
(302) 857-6456

Florida

Dr. Chad Carr

Associate Professor & Extension Meat Specialist

University of Florida – Meat Science Extension
chadcarr@ufl.edu
(352) 392-2454

Florida

Southeastern Meat Association

info@southeasternmeat.com
(910) 240-3210

Georgia

Dr. Anand Mohan

Associate Professor and Extension Program Coordinator

University of Georgia, Dept. of Food Science and Technology
anandmohan@uga.edu
(706) 542-6673

Idaho

Northwest Meat Processors Association

Illinois

Illinois Association of Meat Processors

(815) 443-2492

Indiana

Darla Kiesel

Executive Secretary

Indiana Meat Packers and Processors (IMPPA)
darla@dewigmeats.com
812-768-6208

Indiana

Dr. Kerri Suhr, D.V.M.

Deputy Director

Indiana Board of Animal Health
ksuhr@boah.in.gov
(317) 544-2406

Indiana

Dr. David M. Bough, DVM

Director, Meat and Poultry Inspection Division

Indiana Board of Animal Health
dbough@boah.in.gov
(317) 544-2402

Indiana

Indiana Meat Packers & Processors Association, Inc.

(812) 768-6208

Iowa

Dr. Kathryn Polking

Bureau Chief

Iowa Meat & Poultry Inspection Bureau
kathryn.polking@iowaagriculture.gov
515-281-5597

Iowa

Iowa Meat Processors Association

execdirector@iowameatprocessors.org
(563) 452-3329

Kansas

Dr. Liz Boyle

Professor and Meat Science Specialist

Department of Animal Sciences and Industry, Kansas State University
lboyle@ksu.edu
785-532-1247

Kansas

Kansas Meat Processors Association

kmpa@sbcglobal.net
(785) 738-8182

Kentucky

Dr. Jacquie Jacob

Poultry Extension Project Manager

University of Kentucky, Department of Animal and Food Sciences
jacquie.jacob@uky.edu
859-257-7613

Kentucky

Kentucky Cattlemen's Association

info@kycattle.org
(859) 278-0899

Louisiana

Louisiana Meat Processors Association

(985) 892-4062

Louisiana

Maine

Dr. Jason Bolton

Food Safety Specialist and Associate Extension Professor, and Academic Director of Innovation Engineering

University of Maine
jason.bolton@maine.edu
207.581.1366

Maine

Jennifer Eberly, DVM, MPH

State Veterinarian-Meat and Poultry Inspection

Division of Quality Assurance and Regulations, Maine Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry
jennifer.eberly@maine.gov
207-287-7512

Maryland

Ginger S. Myers

Marketing Specialist for Agriculture and Food Systems

University of Maryland Extension, Western Maryland Research & Education Center
gsmyers@umd.edu
301-432-2767 ext 338

Massachusetts

Brad Mitchell

NA

Massachusetts Farm Bureau
brad@mfbf.net
(508)481-4766

Michigan

Chloe Merindorf-Norton

Executive Secretary

Michigan Meat Association
chloe@michiganmeatassociation.org
(517) 490-0036

Michigan

Dr. Jeannine P. Schweihofer

Senior Meat Quality Extension Educator

Michigan State University Extension
grobbelj@msu.edu
(810) 989-6935

Minnesota

Minnesota Association of Meat Processors

mamp@frontiernet.net
(507) 263-2976

Mississippi

Lena Jones

3684 Lakeland Land

Missouri

Dr. Bryon Wiegand

Professor and Associate Director of Animal Sciences

University of Missouri
wiegandb@missouri.edu
(573) 882-3176

Missouri

Niki Cloud

Executive Secretary

Missouri Association of Meat Processors
niki@mamp.co
(417) 237-0410

Missouri

Missouri Association of Meat Processors

(417) 237-0410

Montana

Jeff Schahczenski

Agricultural and Natural Resource Economist

National Center for Appropriate Technology (NCAT)
jeffs@ncat.org
406-494-7095 HOME & 406-498-4882 CELL

Montana

Montana Meat Processors Association

Nebraska

Dr. Dennis Burson

Professor

University of Nebraska–Lincoln, Animal Science
dburson1@unl.edu
402 472 6457

Nebraska

Nebraska Association of Meat Processors

(402) 793-5840

Nebraska

Shelly Smith

Executive Director

Nebraska Association of Meat Processors
shelly@dillerlocker.com
(402) 793-5840

New Hampshire

Elaina Enzien

Field Specialist, Food & Agriculture

Elaina.enzien@unh.edu
(603) 679-5616

New Jersey

Dr. Donald Schaffner

Distinguished Professor

Dep’t. of Food Science, Rutgers University
schaffner@aesop.rutgers.edu
(732) 982 7475

New Mexico

Dr. Manny Encinias

Agriculture & Animal Sciences Professor

Mesalands Community College
manny@cattlemanagementservices.com
(505) 927-7935

New York

Matt LeRoux

Ag. Marketing Consultant

Cornell University, Cornell University Cooperative Extension, Tompkins County
mnl28@cornell.edu
NA

New York

Marty Broccoli

Ag. Economic Development Specialist

Cornell University Cooperative Extension
mjb83@cornell.edu
(315) 736-3394 Ext. 121

New York

New York State Association of Meat Processors, Inc.

deerman25622@yahoo.com
(607) 847-8234

North Carolina

Dr. Dana Hanson

Associate Professor & Meat Extension Specialist

Food Science Department, North Carolina State University
djhanson@ncsu.edu
(919) 515-2958

North Carolina

North Carolina Meat Processors Association

ncmpa@ncmpa.com
(828) 465-4900

North Dakota

Dr. Karl Hoppe

Extension Livestock Systems Specialist

North Dakota State University Extension Service
karl.hoppe@ndsu.edu
701.652.2951 Ext 111

No affiliate in your state? Help us find one.
State Affiliates are NMPAN’s “eyes and ears” on the ground and our primary contact in each state. They bring useful resources to the network’s attention, provide information and updates on niche meat processing development efforts, and keep the network relevant by identifying priority problems and challenges to niche processing.

State Affiliates usually hold positions that allow them to provide services to niche processors at low to no cost, i.e. such assistance fits clearly within their job description, for example, those who work for a state department of agriculture or university extension.

To become an NMPAN State Affiliate, please tell us about yourself and your connection with niche meat processing by emailing us [our email addresses are at the bottom of this page] some information about yourself, along with answers to the following three questions:

  • How are you involved with niche meat processing?
  • What are your primary processing-related challenges?
  • Where have you found help meeting these challenges? (Please be as specific as possible: people, organizations, guidebooks, websites, etc.)

We look forward to hearing from you.

Scroll to Top